In honour of the founder of Moonee Valley, William Samuel Cox, the Moonee Valley Racing Club Committee decided to run a weight-for-age race over 2040m.

Offering a purse of 1000 Pounds, the W.S. Cox Plate was first run in 1922 and was won by imported stallion Violencello. He was a seven-year-old who the previous year had won the Caulfield Cup at only his fifth start in Australia after being brought out from England.

Strategically placed on the racing calendar between the Caulfield and Melbourne Cups, the W.S. Cox Plate has become a race of great importance and prestige. It is regarded as the best weight for age race in Australasia and one of the most exciting race days in the world. Since its introduction in 1922, the W.S. Cox Plate has always attracted a field of the best horses on offer – the who’s who of the Australasian turf have won this race.

Phar Lap, Kingston Town, Rising Fast, Dulcify, Gunsynd, Super Impose, Octagonal, Might and Power, Sunline, Northerly and more recently champion mare Makybe Diva, So You Think and Winx, have all etched their names on the W.S. Cox Plate Wall of Champions that now takes pride of place in the Octagonal Lounge.

Today the Ladbrokes Cox Plate carries total prize money of $3,050,000. The W. S. Cox Plate has provided racegoers with many great turf memories and will continue to for many more years to come.

Renowned journalist and author Les Carlyon once wrote – “For a scribbler casting around pearls, the Cox Plate has become a tease. The problem is: how do you write about the race without appearing to slobber? I’ll explain.

Moonee Valley Racing Club, rather like that good colt Shakespeare in his Classic year, insists on staging masterpiece after masterpiece. They gave us the Kingston Town trilogy; that used up a few pearls. Then as a variation, they staged the Bonecrusher – Our Waverley Star slugfest. And how do you follow that?”

Past Winners

2017       Winx

2016       Winx

2015       Winx

2014       Adelaide (IRE)

2013       Shamus Award

2012       Ocean Park

2011       Pinker Pinker

2010       So You Think

2009       So You Think

2008       Maldivian

2007       El Segundo

2006       Fields Of Omagh

2005       Makybe Diva

2004       Savabeel

2003       Fields Of Omagh

2002       Northerly

2001       Northerly

2000       Sunline

1999       Sunline

1998       Might and Power

1997       Dane Ripper

1996       Saintly

1995       Octagonal

1994       Solvit

1993       The Phantom Chance

1992       Super Impose

1991       Surfers Paradise

1990       Better Loosen Up

1989       Almaarad

1988       Our Poetic Prince

1987       Rubiton

1986       Bonecrusher

1985       Rising Prince

1984       Red Anchor

1983       Strawberry Road

1982       Kingston Town

1981       Kingston Town

1980       Kingston Town

1979       Dulcify

1978       So Called

1977       Family Of Man

1976       Surround

1975       Fury’s Order

1974       Battle Heights

1973       Taj Rossi

1972       Gunsynd

1971       Tauto

1970       Abdul

1969       Daryl’s Joy

1968       Rajah Sahib

1967       Tobin Bronze

1966       Tobin Bronze

1965       Star Affair

1964       Sir Dane

1963       Summer Regent

1962       Aquanita

1961       Dhaulagiri

1960       Tulloch

1959       Noholme

1958       Yeman

1957       Redcraze

1956       Ray Ribbon

1955       Kingster

1954       Rising Fast

1953       Hydrogen

1952       Hydrogen

1951       Bronton

1950       Alister

1949       Delta

1948       Carbon Copy

1947       Chanak

1946       Flight

1946       Leonard

1945       Flight

1944       Tranquil Star

1943       Amana

1942       Tranquil Star

1941       Beau Vite

1940       Beau Vite

1939       Mosaic

1938       Ajax

1937       Young Idea

1936       Young Idea

1935       Garrio

1934       Chatham

1933       Rogilla

1932       Chatham

1931       Phar Lap

1930       Phar Lap

1929       Nightmarch

1928       Highland

1927       Amounis

1926       Heroic

1925       Manfred

1924       The Night Patrol

1923       Easingwold

1922       Violoncello

 Proudly sponsored by