$3 million Group 1 Ladbrokes Cox Plate (2040m) – October 28

Click here to view nominations for the 2017 Ladbrokes Cox Plate.

Black Heart Bart

Darren Weir

2017 Futurity Stakes

$3.4 million – 16w-14p

“Five time Group 1 winner who is rarely out of the placings” 

Sir Isaac Newton

Robert Hickmott

2016 International Stakes

$510k – 3w-4p

“Promising import – Lloyd Williams looking for his first Cox Plate”


John O’Shea

2016 Turnbull Stakes

$4 million – 10w 11p

“Third best racehorse in the world and last year’s runner-up”

Tosen Stardom

Darren Weir

2015 Cassiopeia Stakes

$1.7 million – 5w-3p

“German bred who possesses a load of ability and Weir polish”


Darren Weir

2017 Australian Cup

$1.3 million – 5w 7p

“Flashed on the scene in the Autumn to win the Australian Cup”


Chris Waller

2016 W.S. Cox Plate

$12.8 million – 21w-3p

“The World’s Best Racehorse – aiming for a Cox Plate three-peat”

Le Romain

Kris Lees

2017 Canterbury Stakes

$2.1 million – 6w-9p

“Building a great CV – look out if the ground is rain affected”

Yankee Rose

David Vandyke

2016 Champion Stakes

$2 million – 4w 2p

“2016 placegetter who relishes the 2000 metre distance range”

Described by racing purists as the best two minutes in sport, the Group 1 Ladbrokes Cox Plate is the horse racing event of the year!

Who will win the 2017 Weight-for-Age Championship? Click here for Ladbrokes odds.

 Proudly sponsored by